The very first INCPAS Award went to Marshall S. Armstrong, CPA, in 1971. It was the Distinguished Service Award — the Society’s highest honor. And since then, more than 180 others have received an award from the Indiana CPA Society in various categories.

2012 INCPAS Award winners

That’s an elite group, considering the Society currently has more than 8,000 members. But, in most cases these honorees are just everyday CPAs.

These award winners are accounting educators, emerging leaders, advocates of the CPA profession, and practice in business and industry, public accounting, government and in not-for-profits. They’re simply serving their profession and communities in a commendable manner … or going the extra mile to serve clients. And their contributions reflect positively on the individuals as well as the CPA designation.

Sue Back, CPA, CGMAMeet Sue Back, CPA, CGMA, the 2012 winner of the Society’s Outstanding CPA in Public Practice Award, which is given to a CPA who’s been instrumental in the growth and success of his/her firm. In Back’s case, she also understands the struggles and demands that go with balancing a family and career. She was nominated by a colleague for striving to make her firm a place that is family-friendly by instituting policies that allow more flexibility, more freedom and more family-interactive activities.

These award winners are CPAs like you. And the outstanding work by you, and your colleagues shouldn’t go unnoticed. Fill out a nomination form on and ensure these individuals get the recognition they deserve. It’s fast and simple.

Who are this year’s best CPAs? No one knows better than you.

All nominations are due Aug 9. Award winners will be honored at the 2013 CPA Celebration on  Nov. 15 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom. If you have questions or need additional information, feel free to contact Tony Flack at the Indiana CPA Society.